About the Commission

  • The United States-Mexico Border Health Commission, consists of a section of Mexico and a Section of the United States of America.
  • The US Section of the Commission consists of the Secretary of Health and Human Services, or the delegate of the secretary and another 12 members who are designated by the Government of the United States of America. The Commissioner of the United States Section shall be the Secretary of Health and Human Services or the delegate of the Secretary.
  • The Mexican Section of the Commission is composed by the Secretary of Health or his delegate and 12 other members, who shall be appointed by the Government of the United Mexican States. The Commissioner of the Mexican Section must be the Secretary of Health or his Delegate.

The Commission has state representative offices in the border cities of both countries.

Mexican Commisioner: Dr. Jorge Carlos Alcocer Varela

Commisioner's Delegate: Vacant

Executive Secretary of the Mexican Section: Dra. Gudelia Rangel Gómez


Dr. Jorge Carlos Alcocer Varela 
Secretary of Health


Academic training

In 1970 he received the title of Surgeon from the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM), with Honorable Mention. He completed his Medical Specialty in Internal Medicine, in Rheumatology and Clinical Immunology at the National Institute of Nutrition, endorsed by the UNAM. In 1980 he obtained a Postgraduate Degree in Immunology at the ICRF Tumor Immunology, at the University of London, England, and in 2007 he obtained a Doctorate in Medical Sciences from UNAM.

He is Emeritus Researcher in Medical Sciences of the Department of Immunology and Rheumatology of the National Institute of Medical Sciences and Nutrition Salvador Zubirán (INCMNSZ). He has the Certification in Rheumatology by the Mexican Council of Rheumatology, of which he was President in 1990.

Professional experience

He has held various teaching positions, including: Adjunct Professor in Medicine (Rheumatology) of the Postgraduate Course in Rheumatology, 1981-1999 and 2000-2004; Professor of the Specialization Course in Rheumatology from 2004 to 2016; Academic Advisor and Professor in the Master and Doctorate Courses in Medical Sciences from 1994 to date. He was Coordinator of Tutors in the Immunology Area and Specialization Program in Biochemistry of the Faculty of Chemistry of the UNAM.

In 1985 he joined the National System of Researchers (SNI) where he was appointed National Researcher Level III, since 1989. In 2011, he was appointed National Emeritus Investigator. In 1989 he was Secretary of the Mexican Council of Rheumatology, in 1991 Vice President and in 1992 President of the Mexican Society of Rheumatology.

From 1998 to 2000 he was a Member of the Biomedicine Dictaminating Commission of the National System of Researchers; Member of the Academic Council of the Area of ​​Biological Sciences and of the Health, Commission Dictaminadora of the Institute of Biomedical Investigations 2002-2006; Member of the SNI Biomedicine Review Commission from 1998 to 2000, and Chairman of the Board of Honor of the SNI from 2009 to 2012.

In May 2015, he was certified Emeritus Researcher by the National Institutes of Health and High Specialty Hospitals of the Ministry of Health. He has belonged to the Editorial Committee of 7 national and foreign journals, as well as 8 Scientific Societies.

Last February, he was appointed Chairman of the Subcommittee on Health of the Evaluation Commission of the National Council of Science and Technology (CONACYT).

He has received numerous awards and distinctions, among which stand out: the Dr. Jorge Rosenkranz Prize 1984 and 2017; Miguel Otero Award 1995; Research Award of the Mexican Society of Rheumatology, on 6 occasions; Master of Rheumatology in 2006 by the Mexican College of Rheumatology; Recognition for the most cited article in the last decade in immunology Thomson Reuters and CINVESTAV in 2009; Dr. Maximiliano Ruíz Castañeda Award in 1996; National Research Award Glaxo Wellcome Foundation 1997, and Recognition of University Merit for the meritorious academic work during 45 years, UNAM May 2015.


Honorary Professor Maimonides University, Buenos Aires, Argentina, April 21, 1997.

Honorary Professor V Central America Congress Andean Caribbean "Dr. Bernhard Hempel Iglesias. " San José Costa Rica, August, 1999.

Member of the Scientific Advisory Board. Center for Medical and Surgical Research. Havana, Cuba, 1999.

Illustrious Professor. School of Medicine. University of Tucumán, Argentina, 1999.

President of the Commission of Experts of Health and Important Diseases of the Mexican Society, of the Call for Projects of Scientific Development to Address National Problems 2013.

National Council of Science and Technology (CONACYT). April 2014, Mexico.

"Heberto Castillo" Prize of Mexico City, November 2014.

National Prize of Sciences and Arts 2015, in the Area of ​​"Mathematical and Natural Physics Sciences". December 15, 2015 Mexico.


Dra. Gudelia Rangel Gómez,
Executive Secretary
United States - Mexico Border Health Commission

161117 Gudelia Rangel

Academic Background: She has a PhD in Health Sciences from the National Public Health Institute, with a specialization in Epidemiology, a Master's Degree in Public Health from the Autonomous University of Baja California and a Degree in Social Work. During her academic career, she has conducted research theses at the master's and doctoral level in public health and epidemiology, in issues such as: HIV / AIDS, reproductive health, access to health services, substance abuse, obesity, health and migration, and Border health. She also collaborates as investigator in several binational research projects in public health and epidemiology, and has published multiple researches in international journals and book chapters.

Professional experience: Dr. Rangel has an outstanding track record in the public sphere and in research and teaching. She excels in her management as an academic and researcher at El Colegio de la Frontera Norte where she served as Director of the Department of Population Studies from 2003 to 2004 and as Director General of Academic Affairs from 2004 to 2007. In the field of public health, she was the Coordinator of the Office of Outreach in Baja California of the US-Mexico Border Health Commission of 2008 at the beginning of 2011. From February 2011 to December 2015 she was Deputy Director General for Health of Migrants of the Ministry of Health, as well as the Executive Secretary of the Mexico-United States Border Health Commission, Mexico Section.

Baja California



Nuevo León



ssa 2018 Logo Ssa Baja CalifornialogosonorachihuahuaLogo Ssa CoahuilaLogo Ssa Nuevo León161109 tamaulipas


Oficina Central de la CSF Sección México
Paseo del centenario #10851, Zona río, C.P. 22320 Tijuana, B.C.
Tel: (01152-664) 634-6511
Fax: (01152-664) 634-6551